Calendars.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Calendars.com
Shop MindBender Puzzles or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Calendars.com Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Calendars.com.

Calendars.com Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar

This is serious fun! Train your brain to think faster, clearer and more creatively than ever before. Play solo or challenge your friends to see where you rate on the Brain Scale. Of course, you're smart enough to realize that this is also a real calendar with all the usual days, dates and holidays.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Review 1 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheIntern
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Received as a Gift

July 24th Error

Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
Cons: several errors
There's a mistake on today's puzzle. The question: What is the only seven letter, everyday English word that has only one vowel. The answer: Cyclist. This is wrong for two reasons. 1. Here y is a vowel since it is unaccompanied by any other vowel in its syllable. 2. Scratch and Stretch are two other (and correct) 7 letter/1 vowel words.
Review 2 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CW
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Received as a Gift

June 26th is also wrong

Date:June 24, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, fun
Cons: there are mistakes in a few of the puzzles
June 26th is also wrong. The given answer (D) can indeed be read backwards: PLUG=GULP. E is an acceptable answer though, as A,B,C and D can be verbs but E is a noun.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gunner
Location: Michigan
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Received as a Gift

It's OK, but there are better

Date:April 3, 2013
Pros: interesting diversion
Cons: too many sudokus, sometimes no answer or the wrong answer, they don't tell you how they get their answer, they ignore the possibility of multiple answers
I like it as a diversion, but there are too many mistakes. Among the ones mentioned in the other reviews, the puzzle with a grid of sticks that asked you to remove 8 sticks to create 2 squares has 4 other answers. For March 27 where they want a compound depicted by PROHTEAM. The only word I could find was METAPHOR, which is not a compound. I used an anagram solver and the only word it came up with was also METAPHOR. And the real killer was for March 26; use each digit once from 0-9 and calculator functions to come up with 12. The answer is TOTALLY wrong!!! No way is 1674 / 93 * 5 / 2 - 80 = 12. A better and simpler answer is 3 * 2 - 6 + 5 - 4 - 1 + 90 - 78 = 12. Plus they never tell you how they arrive at their answers.
A better puzzle daily calendar is 365 Mensa. They always give the answer on the back and for 2012 I did not find a mistake. Puzzles are tough and I certainly don't get them all, but very, very good.
 
My Product Recommendations
365 Mensa Brain Puzzlers Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
4.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Review 4 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ZUZU

I like this calendar

Date:March 27, 2013
I like this calendar. It is one of the better calendars. I wish the Satuday/Sunday page had another game instead of the points page. The caledar is challenging but not too hard. I can usually figure out the answers, but not today!!! And there is no answer on the back of the page for today. The question is Which compound is depicted here? They give the letters PROHTEAM. Does anyone have the answer?
Review 5 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Qubit

Decent Time Waster

Date:February 25, 2013
I wouldn't call the puzzles particularly challenging, but they are a creative distraction. A nice way to start the day. If there had been some actual activities over the weekends, I would have rated it higher - basically, a loss of 14+% in activities. That, and too many sudoku puzzles.
There are also a number of errors though... Jan 10 and Feb 27 so far. (I haven't been looking ahead)
Review 6 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nada
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Gender: male

Great for work

Date:January 21, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
I wanted something for my office. My of my emplooyees are walking in. So, I can pick one each day for them to do. It is random on who has to do the one for that day. Good quizzes of varying difficulty. Some are rather tricky, while others are simple.
Review 7 for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wayne
Location: Tennessee
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Received as a Gift

OOPS! Error on January 10, but great puzzle anyway

Date:January 10, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, a great challenge daily
Cons: the january 10th puzzle is wrong; are there more?
The daily puzzles look interesting and challenging all year, and a weekly scoring summary is even provided; therefore, I rated this puzzle-a-day calendar tops. However, I have already found that the puzzle answer for January 10, 2013, is wrong! Ooops! It states that pattern "A" is correct and, if cut and folded, would correctly make the pattern shown on the 3-D dice. It won't, and neither will any of the other three patterns. Cut out pattern "A" and fold it into a cube and try it and you will see. I correctly answered "None", which was not even an option, so I get the 25 points for January 10. Ha, ha! The Brain Game gets 0 points for today! Still a good, thinking person's puzzle. I like it!
Ratings-Only Reviews for Brain Game 2013 Desk Calendar
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5