Calendars.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Calendars.com
Shop Games, Puzzles & Toys or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Calendars.com Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Calendars.com.

Calendars.com Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar

This rollicking guide to archaic words and their meanings will fascinate all year long. Each page offers an outdated word, vintage illustration, and a literary excerpt demonstrating usage. The stories behind the words offer a slice of social history and culture of times past. A delight for word love
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Review 1 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom in Maryland
Location: central Maryland
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Excellent calendar!

Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: the pages (together) fall off the plastic backing.
We love our Forgotten English calendar every year! Its entries are so interesting! Only one problem: too often the pages (bound together) fall off the plastic backing.
Review 2 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard H
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

A Facinating Look Inside The English Language

Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, quality content
Daily glimpses inside our language, history and culture.
They enlarged the type from the 2013 edition.
Most excellent.
Review 3 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KumiCat
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Great for Word-nerds

Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, more than just a date
Cons: hard to find
Love this calendar and all of the wonderful words. I sometimes find an appropriate word and save the calendar sheet near my computer so I can use the new word in e-mails
Review 4 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stonetip
Location: Abita Springs, LA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

A World of Words

Date:August 9, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, interesting information
I have bought a Forgotten English Desk Calendar every year since it was first introduced and I
am amazed that the author is able to come up with so many interesting and unusual words every year. Beginning with last year's calendar, the physical quality has greatly improved. It is
now printed on glossy paper and the pages can be easily turned and remain flat, unlike the
earlier editions where the pages often came unglued. I do not throw the calendars away once
the year is over because they are valuable sources of information. I hope the author can keep
producing these indefinitely!
Review 5 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rob-man
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Date:February 12, 2013
As usual, the content is awesome. This year, the font size is way too small to easily read.
Review 6 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kacirk fan
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Four-point type???

Date:January 11, 2013
Pros: kacirk's amazing words
Cons: microscopic type makes it impossible to read.
Kacirk's daily bits of linguistic instruction are fantastic. I got this calendar last year, too. I thought the type was small when Pomegranate published it. Now, the font is even more microscopic, which makes this calendar virtually unreadable. If not for that, I've have given it top scores across the board.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tommack
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Forgotten English

Date:January 9, 2013
Cons: unreadable type
Great content, but type is so small it must be read with a magnifying glass. Next year, throw away the fancy framework and return a readable type.
Review 8 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hmeans

Small Font

Date:January 3, 2013
Font too small to read.
Duplicated words from past.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5