Calendars.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Calendars.com Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Calendars.com.

Calendars.com Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar

This rollicking guide to archaic words and their meanings will fascinate all year long. Each page offers an outdated word, vintage illustration, and a literary excerpt demonstrating usage. The stories behind the words offer a slice of social history and culture of times past. A delight for word love
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Review 1 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Helens, Oregon
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

He Loves it!

Date:May 27, 2015
Pros: High Quality Materials, Makes A Great Gift, challenging
This was a Gift for a Coworker. He's an aspiring Author and is our WebMaster at work. He considers himself to be a WordWright (his last name IS Wright). Here's what he said when I asked him how he liked it for this Review:
"Keeping some of the best and going thru them like flashcards every once in a while. Great gift, thanks!!
Review 2 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central Maryland
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Excellent calendar!

Date:August 26, 2014
Cons: the pages (together) fall off the plastic backing.
We love our Forgotten English calendar every year! Its entries are so interesting! Only one problem: too often the pages (bound together) fall off the plastic backing.
Review 3 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Optimistic

Date:August 8, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift
Husband loved the 2014 edition of this calendar, so two weeks ago we ordered for 2015. We've learned expected delivery is six or seven weeks from now; we hope to like it just as much as last year's version.
Review 4 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

A Facinating Look Inside The English Language

Date:October 4, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, quality content
Daily glimpses inside our language, history and culture.
They enlarged the type from the 2013 edition.
Most excellent.
Review 5 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Great for Word-nerds

Date:September 24, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, more than just a date
Cons: hard to find
Love this calendar and all of the wonderful words. I sometimes find an appropriate word and save the calendar sheet near my computer so I can use the new word in e-mails
Review 6 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Abita Springs, LA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

A World of Words

Date:August 9, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, interesting information
I have bought a Forgotten English Desk Calendar every year since it was first introduced and I
am amazed that the author is able to come up with so many interesting and unusual words every year. Beginning with last year's calendar, the physical quality has greatly improved. It is
now printed on glossy paper and the pages can be easily turned and remain flat, unlike the
earlier editions where the pages often came unglued. I do not throw the calendars away once
the year is over because they are valuable sources of information. I hope the author can keep
producing these indefinitely!
Review 7 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Date:February 12, 2013
As usual, the content is awesome. This year, the font size is way too small to easily read.
Review 8 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Four-point type???

Date:January 11, 2013
Pros: kacirk's amazing words
Cons: microscopic type makes it impossible to read.
Kacirk's daily bits of linguistic instruction are fantastic. I got this calendar last year, too. I thought the type was small when Pomegranate published it. Now, the font is even more microscopic, which makes this calendar virtually unreadable. If not for that, I've have given it top scores across the board.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Forgotten English

Date:January 9, 2013
Cons: unreadable type
Great content, but type is so small it must be read with a magnifying glass. Next year, throw away the fancy framework and return a readable type.
Review 10 for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from Forgotten English 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Small Font

Date:January 3, 2013
Font too small to read.
Duplicated words from past.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Forgotten English 2014 Desk Calendar
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5