Calendars.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Calendars.com French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Calendars.com.

Calendars.com French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar

For more than sixty-five years, Living Language has been the foremost name in the field of foreign language self-study. The Living Language: French 2014 Day-to-Day Calendar includes basic words or phrases, accompanied by English translations. A phonetic pronunciation guide is provided for key
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Review 1 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MmeAK
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Handy Teaching Resource

Date:May 7, 2014
Pros: High Quality Materials
I love this calendar! I teach French and have found myriad uses for each page! Not only does every page relay an authentic French phrase, but it has often inspired class conversations (aka teachable moments)! Plus, I keep the pages to use as "scratch" paper for the students. They enjoy reading what phrase their page contains before turning to the blank side to take notes, to create a drawing for listening exercise or to write a reaction to a lesson. I teach high school and I rarely need to censor the day's phrase.
Review 2 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Barb
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Fun French

Date:January 18, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift
If you know some French already, these calendars are lots of fun, and you can learn a few things about idioms and usage. If you don't already know French, it won't really help you learn, but it's fun either way.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GoHybrid

May be heading for the recycling bin soon

Date:January 14, 2014
This is the first time I've gotten one of these Living Language calendars, and I'm seriously thinking about ditching it and getting another calendar for my desk at the office. I've been pulling pages off the calendar for nearly the first two weeks of the year so far, but have thumbed through the balance of the calendar to get an idea of what was ahead, and couldn't believe it when I saw that the majority of the calendar was nothing but verbs. Last time I checked, the ability to converse with someone required sentences, and usually sentences consist of at least a noun and a verb. Did I receive a defective calendar or are the calendars like this every year?
And I like the quotes that are included on each page, except it really would have been nice to include the pronunciation for each phrase as well, so if one wanted to try to actually SAY them, one would know how. Of course, they DID include that day's verb, so at least one knows how to say ONE word of it.
Full disclosure: Haven't actually played the CD that came included with the calendar, so maybe I'm missing something and the two work hand in hand somehow.
But I definitely expected better word choices from the desktop calendar. Would be nice to have seen one day be a verb, the next day be a noun that would work in a sentence with the verb, the next day some grammar to fit it all together. If so, I might actually get the feeling during the year that I'm almost learning a little French, and not just random useless verbs.
I was torn between getting one of four different calendars for my desk this year; seriously thinking I made the WRONG choice, and may very well end up getting a different one and tossing this one in the recycling bin. The only reason I've not done it yet has been the fact that it IS doing what it's primary function is supposed to be - telling me what day it is - but not much more than that.
Review 4 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don
Location: Albany, OR
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

French/English Calendar

Date:November 18, 2013
I have taken French classes some 10-11 years and have been to France twice. This calendar is fun, and it helps me to review the French words. If you dont use it, you lose it!
Review 5 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from French Living Language 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janet of Jackson
Location: Jackson, MI
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Great way to learn or brush up your French!

Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: great learning tool.
I love these French calendars - I've gotten them for several years! They help me remember the french I learned years ago. I think it would help anyone learn a bit of french too. This is one of the most fun daily calendars I've ever had. People in my office like to come and look at the phrase for the day and see if they know what it says (We cover the English translation). It definitely helps your french vocabulary.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from French Living Language 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mike

French Living Language Desk Calendar

Date:February 2, 2013
Tried to find a Berlitz 2013 calendar- couldn't. Berlitz previous years were much superior to this Living Language one. Needs to have a phonetic translation of the entire sentence to be utilitarian.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from French Living Language 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Annie C

Incomplete

Date:December 11, 2012
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
This calendar is made of good quality materials and you may find it to suit your needs. My only complaint is that there is not a full phonetic translation of the phrase. If it had that feature, it would be the perfect desk calendar.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from French Living Language 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bhottle
Location: California
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Fun with language

Date:November 30, 2012
Pros: Makes A Great Gift
This desk calendar offers a range of words and expressions from basic to idiomatic so that a new student may learn the language and an experienced student can refresh rusty skills. I have had one on my desk for years, and it doesn't repeat information. My wfe and I find it enjoyable and helpful.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from French Living Language 2012 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate

French Living Language Desk Calendars

Date:October 11, 2011
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials, fun
This is a delightful, daily means of enhancing your language skills! I buy them for my kids at college!
Ratings-Only Reviews for French Living Language 2014 Desk Calendar
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1