Calendars.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Calendars.com 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Calendars.com.

Calendars.com 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar

The most beloved and bestselling word calendar on the market—the one that belongs on the desk of every crossword buff, writer, reader, student, and lover of language. Take your vocabulary to the next level with hundreds of smart and unexpected words, from the classic to the neoteric, chosen by the e
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Review 1 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chrisf
Location: Athens, Georgia
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Page a day words

Date:February 27, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, keeps me thinking
It's great. It's just what I wanted: new words with definitions and etymology on the back. I pass them out to friends-- a day late.
Review 2 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
none
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

365 New Words A-Year

Date:January 30, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift
It is a fun item to have. The words are mostly obscure and not often used but you never know when you might come across one of them.
None were left in our local bookstore. We ordered online. Good, prompt service.
Review 3 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryAtWork
Location: New Haven CT
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

"What's the word of the day?"

Date:January 28, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, educational
My neices gave me the 2013 365 New Words A Year calendar. I started reading it aloud at work. Eventually, if I did not announce the new word-of-the-day by mid-afternoon, one of my co-workers would request it. We tried to associate the word with a work-related function. Or for more fun, we'd relate it to one of us personally. I felt compelled to continue with the 2014 version.
Review 4 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Young
Location: Southern California
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

it is effable

Date:January 7, 2014
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
A very sagacious creator thereof, give the calendar to your friends and use the daily word in your conversations. Very unique group activity, which we have done for years.
Review 5 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GRAM
Location: Bowie, MD
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

365 NEW WORDS-A-YEAR

Date:November 14, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
Love this calendar. For years, it has been a favorite. I find it enertaining, and informative.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoAnn
Location: Henderson, NV
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Has helped me build my vocabulary for over 10 year

Date:October 25, 2013
Pros: High Quality Materials, you get email version too for free.
I love the information on the word origins. I buy this calendar every year for my desk at work. Makes for good conversation too. There are too many words that aren't really useable in modern language, I wish they would up the percentage of good words. I've looked around though and haven't found anything better than this one. I can't find it in stores either. Only on calendars.com.
Review 7 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tngweilo
Location: Loudon, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Gaining knowledge never gets old.

Date:October 23, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
I enjoy learning a new word every day. From Chaussure (shoes) to Orthography (correct spelling), I never grow weary of knowledge. The word origin and example make the education process even better.
Review 8 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Missy
Age: 18-24
Gender: female

OK

Date:June 19, 2013
I got this just wanting to expand my everyday vocabulary, but these words are really old fashioned, too long, not often used, and just tedious. I was hoping for slightly more common words. Too boring.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: victoria0716@aol.com

Date:January 18, 2013
Cons: useless words!!
Terrible, these are words that no one uses, i am very dissappointed. I was looking for something to be educational, interesting, and fun. I am only to the 17th of January, and i hate it!!
Review 10 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tngweilo
Location: Loudon, TN
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Knowledge is power

Date:January 17, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
Cons: can be pricey; buy after first of year
I enjoy the daily word and the background ot it.
Review 11 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Polly
Location: addison, texas
Age: 45-54
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

AWESOME AND CONVENIENT

Date:January 16, 2013
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
THank you for helping me find a reasonably priced product that retail stores no longer had on their shelves. I am so thankful I was able to give a belated gift to a worthy person and find the remaining, exact one I wanted. This word a day calendar has brought so much happiness to people close to me. thanks again! it's one of the best and most enjoyed gifts I give each year!!
Review 12 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sher
Location: PA
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
PlaceOfPurchase: Online

Expand your vocabulary!

Date:December 21, 2012
Pros: Makes A Great Gift
My friend loved it & we are going to learn 365 new words this year!
Review 13 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2013 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sliderb

Excellent for the classroom

Date:October 16, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, educational value
I purchased this calendar for the first time in 2012. I'm a middle school English teacher and have found this to be a great tool for my classroom. I hang the daily page above my whiteboard so kids can both see the date and learn a new word. In fact, during one of our literature stories this year, we were reading about cavemen and that day's word was troglodyte. I was able to integrate that into the lesson and it worked out beautifully. Plus the origin of the word section has been a great bonus to help in understanding as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
Doctor Who 2013 Wall Calendar
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Futurama 2013 Wall Calendar
3 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
This review is from 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2012 Desk Calendar.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jbwilks2000
Location: Henderson, NV
Age: 45-54
Gender: female

Increases vocabulary-Very interesting!

Date:August 20, 2011
Pros: Makes A Great Gift, High Quality Materials
I have been buying this calendar for over 10 years. It's always on my desk at work. It has the explanation of where the word came from and interesting facts on the back. Even though I can't remember all the words, I know my vocabulary has improved over the years. I understand the roots of the words better. I have tried other versions and this one is by far the best because of the layout and explanations and usable words. I also get the free version to my inbox.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 365 New Words-A-Year Page-A-Day 2014 Desk Calendar
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Look & Feel: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5